top of page

Annual General Meeting 2021

ASTC Annual General Meeting - Wednesday 13 October 5:00 pm


This members-only meeting will be held using Zoom, so you can attend no matter where you are. Typically, the AGM takes about 30 minutes.


You are welcome to stay and chat after the meeting. This is a chance to get to know other members and let us know if you have suggestions for things you would like the society to do on your behalf.

How to attend

Please email our administrator, Karen, at and let her know. You'll receive a Zoom link a few days before the meeting.

Become a committee member!

The current committee comprises a group of dedicated volunteers who make the ASTC function – why not consider nominating for next years’ committee? There are plenty of ways you can contribute and add your ideas to the mix. Apart from the monthly meeting, your time commitment is totally flexible. 

The monthly committee meeting is via Zoom and generally lasts around one hour. Apart from contributing to the good of the society, you're also contributing to the technical communications industry in general - and dare I say it, it can be very satisfying.

You can nominate for:

  • President

  • Vice President

  • Secretary

  • Treasurer

  • General Committee

To be nominated, you must be a current financial member of the ASTC at the time of the AGM, and be proposed and seconded by a member. (Don't know a member? Contact us and we'll help.) We'll publish nomination details on the AGM page as they are received. And although you can nominate someone at the AGM, it's always better to nominate early to give voting members ample time to consider nominations.

How to nominate yourself or someone else

Download, complete and sign the nomination form and return it to before COB on Tuesday 12th October.​

If there are multiple nominations for a position, there will be a ballot held. Having your nomination in early will give members time to consider who they wish to vote for.

How to vote

You'll be able to vote via the polling tool on Zoom. If you can't attend the meeting, you can appoint a proxy to vote in your place by simply downloading the proxy form, completing and returning it to by COB on Monday, 11th October, 2021.

Please come along and support your society.

Connect with your profession.
Learn from your peers.
2021 committee nominations
ASTC Financial Statement (Member Portal)
ASTC Presidents Report 2021
(Member Portal)

ASTC committee

A group of dedicated technical communication professionals make up the ASTC Committee each year. Our committee members volunteer their time to plan and manage the ASTC's program and meet the regulatory responsibilities of the committee and their committee roles.

The committee of four compulsory office-bearer and a number of ordinary member positions, as determined by the committee, is elected at the ASTC's Annual General Meeting.

2021 committee nominations

Nominee Details
Financial Member
David Cross

Committee position:

Proposed:  Janet Gray

Seconded:  Sonja McShane

I've been a technical communicator and trainer for more than 30 years. As a long-standing member of the ASTC, I've been on the committee for 17 years, including stints as President, Vice President and Secretary. I'm passionate about the technical communication industry and networking with my peers and believe my experience stands me in good stead to contribute to the 2022 ASTC committee.

Julie Ponder

Committee position:

Proposed: Janet Taylor  

Seconded: Janet Gray

Julia runs her own company that provides documentation, support and training to businesses. She specialises in the application and operation of business software. As a member, Julia enjoys the learning and job opportunities the ASTC provides. Julia was a member of last year's committee.

Jason Xiros

Committee position:

Proposed: Jason Xiros  

Seconded: Janet Taylor

After a lengthy career in telecommunications, Jason founded a project management consultancy to focus on large-scale contact-centre projects in Australia and overseas. The work encompasses all project stages including detailed documentation. Jason joined ASTC in 2015 and was a member of last year's committee.

Janet Taylor


Proposed: Janet Taylor 

Seconded: David Cross

I was a member of the ASTC (NSW) committee for many years before joining the national committee. I am an enthusiastic supporter of technical communication in all its forms and really want to help our members raise their profile as well as help us all to keep up to date with trends in our profession. 

Carl Sarelius


Proposed: Carl Sarelius 

Seconded: Janet Taylor 

I've been the Treasurer for ASTC for a number of years and feel that continuity is good.

Charlotte Brogden

Committee position

Proposed: Charlotte Brogden

Seconded: Janet Taylor 

A previous, long-term member of the ASTC (and administrator of the ASTC/TWIA website).







bottom of page